The online racing simulator
Possible way of making LFS cars backfire.
Hey I've got an idea but Im not very good at sound editing so maybe one of yoou guys could give it a whirl.

Anyway with the turbo cars take the blowoff noise and then add backfires after it for say 10 seconds, so say if you rev the motor out and then throttle off it will pop and crackle and stop as you get back on the throttle. I know it won't be rev dependant but I think it could sound pretty cool.

Do you guys think this would be possible?
#2 - Lible
Well, i believe it is possible, but it's pretty hard to do tought. Anyway, i really can't see the point of this... do F1 cars have backfire... no, but Nascar cars? (well, don't ask me )
backfire is a cool effect. Especially seen on WRC cars... It is amazing sometimes. And I think backfires have all kind of racing cars... GTR, WRC, GT. I dont know anything about a reason why this effect does exitst but it is cool ...
Well, there was a thread running in Improvement Suggestions, which was about backfire being useful for the turbocharged GTR's. It would be useful for charging the turbo again quickly after you let go of the throttle.

Edit: http://www.lfsforum.net/showthread.php?t=6443
#5 - neRu
F1's have ocassionally backfire, not much, but there is a little.

Every hard tuned engine which runs a little rich backfires.
I dont think backfire shuld be in LFS at all. Have u see UF1 with backfire ? yes only on movie
Quote from Citywidemicke :I dont think backfire shuld be in LFS at all. Have u see UF1 with backfire ? yes only on movie

Well the backfire as itself is just and effect. Nice to have where it realistically should be. I don't think there is any precise reason why UF1 should not backfire under certain conditions? No catalysator, etc...
#8 - SamH