The online racing simulator
When to go on line?
(36 posts, started )
#1 - Yasko
When to go on line?
Hi,
I can run up front on quick with my momo. The new g25 will be here next week. Do I need to beat the AI on quick before I go on line? The starts can be hard for me at times, and trying to keep the car on the road for more than an half an hour is hard. I would hate to go online and have everyone hate on me for being too slow. What's a good bench mark?

Thanks.
Generally, the drivers online are perfectly acceptable of you, if you drive respectfully, no matter if you're near WR fast or with all laps outside of 110%. Time-wise, the average driver can pull off lap times about 1 to 7 seconds faster than the AI pilots (track depends).
have you done the overtaking lessons in training? they teach you not to touch other cars
Don't worry about being slower than the aliens. I've been playing LFS for a few years, and still haven't been kicked or banned for being too slow
In my short experience, I've found that you need to be faster than the AI on PRO (with a given car on a given track) before you'll be competitive online.
Example... I have been practicing BL GP with the XFR with AI on PRO, and they typically run 1:20's with an occassional 1:19. I've got my time down to a fairly consistent 1:18 - 1:19, but the world record with this combo is 1:14, and I've checked the stats of a few racer's who have personal bests in the 1:16 to 1:17 range...
It is still good to go online and atleast spectate and/or follow so that you can see the fastest lines with a given combo.
Just go online mate, say hello and declare that you are new, most people and servers are quite forgiving, if they are not you're better off not racing in there anyway.