The online racing simulator
I feel for LFS to move foward it needs some real tracks
I have been playing LFS for a few months now and have loved it.
However when im going round Aston or Blackwood i just wish that i could drive an FXR round Silverstone or Spa, or Theglen anything really.

I feel that its a real disadvantage that LFS has against Rfactor and GTR
Im not sure what the costs are about building real tracks in games i know there is a fee or major tracks.
However there are so many tracks for Nascar 2003 and Rfactor that people have made themselves and surley they dont have to pay anyone for it.
I realise that the developers really dont want the source code or the net code to fall into reivals hands and i understand that. but if they could create a track building programme this would be a huge boost to the game.
I have got a lot of my fellow sim racers into the game but the sceptics play the game and ask "are there any real tracks" i awnser no and there is a sigh from them like well thats it then i'll go back to Rfactor or Nascar 2003 etc

So first do all real tracks want a fee if they are put into the game or just the major ones?

Second would it be possible to build a programme that will let people do tracks without revealing LFS secrets?

what do you guys think and know on the matter?
rfactor has the same amount of real tracks as LFS has real cars, afaik.
well, those are both unofficial addons with a quality of design (especially the Nordschleife) which are way below, what i call "buyworthy". rfactor itself hasnt got real tracks, except one maybe, and the PCC-Mod is called mod, because it's a mod, and not original content of the game. So please stick to the facts, or write it in other words:
e.g.
Quote :rfactor is cool, cause you can use addon tracks, which you cant in LFS

got it?

BTT: I love a very good fantasytrack more than a WIP Mother which is quality wise below GPL-releaseyear standard.