The online racing simulator
OK you widescreen drivers... What FOV do YOU use?
I know there are a few FOV threads that discuss this and so on and 90ish seems to win. This is not quite the same question though.

However. I am more interrested in Widescreen players specifically. Not so much the surround guys with triple head setups. Just plain and simple 16:10 and 16:9 Widescreeners.

I ask because I just started playing again on my Samsung 226BW 22" 1680x1050 screen. Having issues finding an FOV I am confortable with.

What FOV just feels right and gives you your best times.

C.
112degrees on 24' dell ultrasharp.
#3 - Jakg
Personally i think i use 84° on a 22" WS, i've tried 100+ but it just feels... wierd.

Of course with my FOV the MRT is undrivable because you can't actually see the gear indicator etc.
Quote from Jakg :Of course with my FOV the MRT is undrivable because you can't actually see the gear indicator etc.

A true driver doesn't need the gear indicator. He knows what gear he is in just by feel

Sorry Jack, had to say that, hehe.

I can't see the gear indicator in any of my LFS cars. Not because of the FOV, but because my wheel blocks that area of the screen.
#5 - Jakg
Yes, but good luck driving when you can't see the RPM indicator, and thus have no idea when to change etc. In the FXO i could manage, but knowing when to shift comes with experience, experience i don't have in the crappy (imo) car.
102 to get me full view of the mirrors in the tin tops. You can usually use around 80 for the winged single seaters to see both mirrors but I'm using a 21'' monitor so I think it differs. The bigger the monitor, the smaller FOV you can use. I think if you use a wide FOV (between 90-100) its good because you get a good combination of feeling of speed and you can see a lot of the corner when going in not just turning seeing barriers all the way round
#7 - wien
Quote from Nathan_French_14 :112degrees on 24' dell ultrasharp.