The online racing simulator
LFS.net Hosting doesn't host insim apps?
I'm currently using a 3rd party service that's hosting my server along with my insim app. I have no experience with lfs.net hosting but because we will have to use it with the 6W version I'm now looking at how it works and to my surprise it seems like lfs.net doesn't host insim apps or am I wrong? If I create a temporary server I can see in the "Your hosts" page that there's a tab that says "Admin app" but that now says "Admin apps are currently disabled for host version 0.6W and above." so I can't really tell what that's for.
You can still connect your InSim app to the server's IP and port (the "Host IP" and "Insim port" columns on the host detail page).
I know but that's not what I'm asking Smile

I was hoping I will still be able to have both server and insim app running on same machine or at least use the same service for both.
Victor made a post about this a few weeks ago:

Quote from Victor :I would really appreciate it if people think about this a bit. Do you really need to host insim applications on the gaming machine itself? I've thought about this for quite a while - I can make it work of course, using containers for example. But that also opens up a whole other can of worms, if I allow anyone to just run any arbitrary application. For a few euros per month you could rent an ssh host then basically (= the game server in a container with you having SSH access) with which you can do anything. And that is for me not an acceptable situation.

You can always connect your insim application to your game server, but you'll have to host the insim application yourself, either at home or elsewhere.

I'll gladly make other improvements to the hosting system btw. Please note them down and save them for later. We'll probably make a separate thread on this topic later.