The online racing simulator
How To Gradutate From "Pls Send Setup!"
(19 posts, started )
So, I'm a noob in almost every way, other than crashing in turn 1 (i just wait until the pack is through )

I always try to learn a track with the basic setups, and then if someone is helping me usually they send a setup over. The setups always make a huge difference (for the better) but I never feel like I really earned the better times as I'm using someone's hard work. How can I move from borrowed setups to knowing what the hell is going on? I look at the differences between basic setups and the setups I get, I read about the settings, but overall I just am lost. Maybe it's because I'm not a consistent enough driver to test small changes - any tips?

thanks
You could try to mix setups, like using spring settings from set "A" and gearbox setting from set "B" and see what you prefer. Or just stick with 1 set, drive as much as possible with it untill you think you're not improving anymore, and then start to change little things, if it doesn't get better, make sure you remember the old settings though
Also, there are some good setup tutorials around. And most of the basic car handling tutorials might help you too, it's no rocket science, it just takes a bit practice
#3 - Vain
Try reading a bit in Bob's Advanced Setup guide (the link is in Bob Smith's signature).
After that you will know what option influences the car's behaviour in which way. When you become consistant enough you will notice that the car as some handling-issues you'd like to change and you'll remember the setupguide. Then you can modify your setup and see how it works out.
Learning how to setup a car is a long process and needs a lot of consistancy, knowledge about car-dynamics as well as feel for the car - in other words practice.
It's perfectly okay to use someone else's setup. They wouldn't share the setup if they didn't want to support you, so why not accept the help?

Vain