The online racing simulator
#1 - AlexC
Proposal: License LFS under an open-source license
Morning,

Due to LFS mainly being an online multiplayer simulator, I believe it is one of the few current commercial closed-source games/simulators that could really benefit and still profit very much from being released under an open-source license.

We all know that development of LFS is painfully slow (not a complaint, as a programmer my self I fully understand delays and real life gets in the way) due to the very small development team - and releasing LFS under an OSI approved license (such as the GNU LGPL or GPL) could radically change this, and improve LFS beyond what most of us can imagine right now. Further more, LFS can continue to profit from sales even if released as open-source, since it is perfectly legal to sell open-source software (in fact, the GNU/FSF encourage you to do so).

People would still buy a (race) license as they do now, which will enable them to race on servers - which would still contact the master server(s) as it does now, so on the server-side there can still be all the checks available to ensure that people have a license to race.

Questions that I can see people asking/saying:
  • But that means anyone can edit the code? No, not at all. Sure, the source would be available for all to see, however this does not mean anyone and everyone can edit the official source code that gets distributed. The current developers and copyright holders still have the final say as to what goes into the code, in fact - they still control who has access to edit the official code. People would be able to review the code and send in patches upstream (to the LFS developers) which would get reviewed and possibly applied to the official code, and will make its way into future releases.