The online racing simulator
Some noobish advice needed
(33 posts, started )
Hi all.
I'm very new to driving sims, although I have GTR2 too, but never really dedicated much time to it...might change my mind.
I'm a so-called "hardcore" flight-simmer, and I have joystick, throttle, rudders, TIR4...all that sort of things.
But I miss a steering wheel, and I haven't my own pc here !

Now, while recovering from a long surgical adventure, I started d'loading demos of race sims, and eventually found LFS. I ran the demo for a month and then bought S2. Wow, I really like it !
My "problem" (must be a common one) is that I drive with mouse and keyboard, auto shifting, brake help on. I started switching off the driving line help, so I don't focalize on it (Blackwood of course).
I'm not asking you to check my hotlaps and see where I can save some seconds on this or that corner (I'm not that good yet). I'm still trying to grasp all the technicalities and lingo of driving world, which is all very new to me. I've read all the stickies about "clean driving", T1 surviving, all that, and I'm trying to apply it to my drivingstyle.

Just tell me please if there are big obvious DO's and DONT's about keyboard driving, like "you absolutely have to manually change gear if you want to improve your times", or "switch off/on brake help"...

Thanks.
#2 - Dac
[OFFTOPIC=Sorry]can i just ask which other race sims youve downloaded?

thanks[/OFFTOPIC]
#3 - dadge
hi, and welcome to LFS. i am a wheel user but this advice should also work with kb drivers. slow in=fast out.
also let me be the first to reccomend a wheel. GET A WHEEL!!!!! lol
but seriously bud, i've used them all. kb+mouse. joystick, joypad and finally a wheel. although you can get the job done with all of the above, but to get the best out of this sim you really should think about getting a wheel.
@ Dac
I started with Trackmania Nations (or whatever it is called). Did you say arcade ?