The online racing simulator
Tamiya Modeling Tips?
(33 posts, started )
Tamiya Modeling Tips?
Does anyone have some tips for painting, assembling etc for Tamiya models? Not the RC ones, the 1/24 scale ones. I've checked Tamiya's site and they have some good ones but does anyone have some of their own tips they'd like to share?

I've bought a Jaccs Accord from eBay, and I plan to by some more, and I'm doing a '05 Subaru WRC now. I've been doing models for about 3 years, just recently graduated to spray paint
#2 - JJ72
the usual? prime it, put a coupe of thin layer of paint, use a fine sander to sand it down, then another coupe thin layer of paint, sand it a bit, put the clear coat on and sand it again, then wax it.
Airbrushes are cheap. So cheap that I bought one in 1990 (Badger Cressendo) specifically for painting models, and I've never ever used it... Still have it out in the tool box in the garage.

Airbrush is the perfect tool for painting 1:24 scale models.
I used to build Tamiya motorbike kits. Unfortunately I don't have them any more, they got lost when I moved.

I never used an airbrush for any of them, although one would've came in handy for the fairing, as it was quite tedious using a brush and the results were far from brilliant.

I keep meaning to start building models again, it's good fun. I built a few trucks as a child but never really knew what I was doing so they came out funny and never got painted.

As for tips, the only thing I can suggest is making something to hold small pieces to let them dry. Tissue box with some opened up paper clips tapes on works a treat. A pair of tweezers is very helpful for putting the fiddly pieces together, and pretty much essential for apply decals.
Paint everything before you put it together. Nothing looks worse than bare plastic on a model.