The online racing simulator
General Heel/Toe, Rev Matching Techniques
Ok, I`ve managed to get a fairly good heel/toe technique down for rev matching downshifts (using the h-shifter, I`m not a fan of sequential and electronic trickery) in racing sims, but I`ve always wondered exactly how and when it should be used, and any difference between sims and the real life use for it.

Obviously in reality, there are a lot more mechanical reasons that aren`t simulated in sims, that might influence how and when you`d use h/t downshifting. Also since I have no racing experience in reality, I`m not entirely sure exactly when it should be used and when it shouldn`t.

Mechanically speaking, at least with non-sequential shifting, to me it seems like it should be used on all downshifts, to ease excessive wear, etc on the transmission, but by doing that, you`re bypassing the natural benefits of engine braking as a slowing aid.

Should h/t downshifting really only be used on lower gears, using engine braking from the higher gears, then maybe h/t on the 2nd/3rd depending on the car to stop the back end kicking out on cornering, or would it best be applied on all downshifts over all the gears?

Any explanations, theories, and advice welcome, for both sim use, and in reality
H&T doesn't stop engine braking. What I think you are referring to is using the clutch to reengage the gearbox when the engine is at improper revs for the road speed, and adding to the retardation - the same force that would cause wheel lock up if you're unlucky.

Using that force is bad practice in real life, as it puts more components under extra stress, and massively increases the risk of an accident. In a simulation it's valid though if you don't mind getting into bad habits.

I would always [try to] heal and toe on a downshift, partly because the car will remain more stable, and partly because it'll be less to pay for as I'm less likely to break something.