The online racing simulator
Things I'd Like For Lfs
(14 posts, started )
Things I'd Like For Lfs
hi! I'm a new driver and this is the first post i write!
I think that this is the definitive simulator ever and has the opportunity to cover all the racing disciplines! I personally am a rally fun and i hope that interesting stages will be developed as soon as possible because, perhaps, this sim could become also the main rally sim on the entire actual theater ( mitic RBR included !! )
Quote from France B. :hi! I'm a new driver and this is the first post i write!
I think that this is the definitive simulator ever and has the opportunity to cover all the racing disciplines! I personally am a rally fun and i hope that interesting stages will be developed as soon as possible because, perhaps, this sim could become also the main rally sim on the entire actual theater ( mitic RBR included !! )

The problem with Rally it's that it's difficult to port to a multiplayer platform... it's mostly a single-player thing as cars start their stage minutes apart.

As LFS is mainly build to be a Multiplayer Racing Simulator I somehow don't think Rally will fit in. But who knows...
Depending on the length of the stage, it could be done by scaling the start times down. You could maybe go 30 seconds apart instead of 3 minutes or whatever it is IRL.

That would keep the idea of multiplayer alive by keeping people racing at the same time, but still allowing enough time between each to allow for some minor mistakes.
What about running it where all the cars run at the same time, maybe, but showing splits and stuff. Replays work as usual, tabbing between the cars.
And don't forget those special stages where two drivers are pitted against each other in parallel courses!

But yeah, the whole 30second staggered start would help to preserve the multi-player aspect of the sim while operating in a time-attack styled racing form.