The online racing simulator
Troubles displaying data on a browser from an .xml file
Hi.
I've been trying to get a web page to display some data from an .xml file created by LFSPoints. I'm pretty new to xml to be honest, and i wouldn't call myself a HTML master either.
I've been looking at working examples and trying to work it out from there, but what i've come up with doesn't work and i'm now stuck.
Can anyone see why the below code does not fetch what i want it to?
I'm going to assume i'm either very close or way way off the mark with it.
The below .html file is hosted in the same directory as 'test.xml' which is a LFSPoints exported file.

<html>
<body>

<xml src="test.xml" id="rssc" async="false"></xml>

<br />Track:
<span datasrc="#rssc" datafld="TrackName"></span>
<br />Laps:
<span datasrc="#rssc" datafld="Laps"></span>

</body>
</html>

Obviously, this code is only a test to see if i can get it to work, i don't want to only display the Track and Lapcount.

So, any ideas?
If you need more info, just let me know.

Thanks for any help guys
Aren't you supposed to use an XSLT doc to convert from XML to XHTML etc., instead of doing it from the HTML doc?
I'm not sure how portable that is between browsers; I know that IE has what is referred to as a XML Data island, but as NAI points out its probably better to use an XSL stylesheets to transform the data you want.

A couple of quick ways of doing XSL is to allow the browser to do it, i.e.

You can use the XSLT document function e.g. document('file.xml')
to load XML resources. Note that in the browser with normal security settings the same origin policy applies meaning you can load XML data only from the server the original document comes from.

Or visa versa and insert a stylesheet into the XML document as such as...

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<?xml-stylesheet type="text/xsl" href="print.xsl"?>

where "print.xsl" is name of your XSL stylesheet.