The online racing simulator
Hairpin Help PLease - #2
(15 posts, started )
Hairpin Help PLease - #2
Hello again,

I have begun to practice my hairpin "failures" a lot. I'm using the AS3 course and would appreciate the following help from experienced drivers:

1. What car do you reccomend for my practice?
2. Is there a setup I could download that is good for training/practice?
3. As a pure beginner here - what is the sequence for the turn setup? Do I brake then downshift or is it the other way around?
4. Last - what is the approximate entry speed for the EAST side hairpins in AS3.

This is a facinating sim for me. I would like to become proficient enough to race on-line without being a "danger" to other drivers.

Thanks in advance for all of your help,

Cheers,

Ron Sagel
rjsagel
1) All of em, but if you are breaking it down, I'd use the XFG to start with, but every car will be different.
2) RACE_S is a very workable setup, I'd use that for starters
3) I generally brake and downshifting at the same time.
4) Not sure about entry speed, but corner speed in the XFG is about 45mph for those 2 corners, I suggest downloading a fast WR lap and seeing the brake points, turn in points and apexes that others use.
#3 - HVS5b
For what its worth!

1) As mentioned already the XFG is a pretty straightforward car to drive. Also maybe try the FXO and UFR to illustrate how differently each type of car drives.
2) Try team inferno for WR sets then reduce tyre camber and increase tyre pressure as a start.
3) Brake and downshift together, no trail braking for hairpins usually.
4) East side? Sorry lost me there......
I think he means the double hairpins halfway round Aston National............
In the UFR you have to drive smoothly in order to save the tyres, and as smoothness usually equals speed I have found it useful for practicing in.
#6 - HVS5b
Quote from danowat :I think he means the double hairpins halfway round Aston National............