The online racing simulator
Automatic or manual?
(64 posts, started )
Automatic or manual?
illepall I'm a beginner...in LFS!! I've been racing ALL other sims before. I found that the talk about using gears, clutch etc. is just...bullshit!! I can race faster than any guy using the automatic option in other games. Is this the case in LFS as well?? Do you really gain from using manual gear shift in LFS, or is it just 'mumbo jumbo' from the 'tough guys'?illepall
YES!

I gained more than half a second with XFG on BL after some practice, when I switched to manual gearing.
You definately have an advantage with a manual since the auto is not too good in LFS. However, you can use the gear change buttons to change gear manually with auto (I do this).

For tightening corners (i.e. 4th in, 2nd out), it is definately dire.
Every racing sim I've ever played I've been MUCH quicker with manual gears (a second per mile or so. But in racing games on the PS2 which are designed purely and simply to be fun I'm quicker with autos (and my fingers hurt changing gear on a gamepad).
I always use Manual - I love the way you can do WSs when you don't have a clutch!
I use auto but I have tried manual.
You usaully get me on track going down the straight going "humph humph humph" with the revs cos I forget i'm in manual so i'm much better in auto overall.
But from what i've heard manual is better.
? you can shift when its on automatic.. so technically we (well.. i know we dont have automatic) but technically we have tiptronic
Manual means you do it by yourself. Which clearly means you change gear by yourself so yes, you can shift while on manual. Did you mean Automatic.
Quote from nutty boy :Manual means you do it by yourself. Which clearly means you change gear by yourself so yes, you can shift while on manual. Did you mean Automatic.

What??