The online racing simulator
Any mouse drivers out there?
(46 posts, started )
#1 - Noni
Thinking of getting S2 but are there many mouse drivers there?

I also just started left and right clicking for manual gear, its hard!

Thanks.
Pretty sure there's a few about.. They seem to be ok with it
IMO It's easy depending on how you set up your controller. Back when I used a mouse I had throttle, brake and clutch set up on the keyboard, steering and shifting on the mouse which worked very well. I'd imagine it'd be a lot harder if you use the mouse for throttle and brake too. Still, today without any practice with mouse I can run similar times as I do with my wheel. It becomes a second nature after a while of practising (there as any method does, I suppose).
#5 - Ndrew
Mouse driver here
yes I am a mouse driver and after the recent patch, the cars are more predictable, and you can get quite fast with the mouse (just keep practicing), the obvious disadvantage is the digital throttle and brake imputs, but you can compensate by using lower button control rate and then tapping like a madman. But the key is practice practice practice, it is very hard because you dont have the 'physical' feel of the wheel underneath you, so hard to judge how much your turning, and its extremely easy to misjudge the amount of your countersteering etc.

some tips - use cockpit view with wheel, it makes it ALOT easier, also you may wish to turn forces on, to remove the dashboard, looks weird, but easier to hit these apex's and through chicanes.

my controls -

left right click = shift
a nd z = throttle and brake

good luck!
#7 - ste_
yeah, real men use mice!
there's some unbelievabley fast mouse drivers out there (NOS PBU I'm looking at you ) and it's perfectly possible to enjoy lfs with a mouse. Of course, you're at a slight disadvantage because of the digital accelerate/brake but you can still put in respectable times.