The online racing simulator
Sim racer to RL racer....
(10 posts, started )
Not sure I can remember who was sending me messages approx 1 year ago about making the jump to motor racing IRL as I've deleted them so I thought I'd just share my experiences with racing in my first season.

A little bit of background. I've been driving on circuit non-competitively for the last 7 years doing regular trackdays in various cars and in that time I've been a frequent visitor to Germany for touristfahren on the Nordschleife. Over winter last year I decided that I wanted to take the plunge and have a crack at racing for real in the UK.

I already had a car nearly suitable that I'd been using for trackdays and my trips to Germany so went looking for series it would be suitable in. The first one I found was Trackday Trophy aimed at novice racer drivers with long races allowing the ability to share a car with someone and more importantly share the costs. As a serviceman I had the opportuinity to race my car in a series just for serving personnel, not an outright race for the line but consistency scored, meaning anyone can win regardless of power, weight and cost!

The build of the car can be seen here. Before the conversion to race car it was standard apart from race seats, harnesses and a full roll cage.

The first race is covered in the thread above but race day was a disaster with horrible weather conditions and us taking a massive gamble by staying on hard compound race tyres, it was very difficult to generate heat for the first few laps.

My second race was at Anglesey, North Wales in May. This was the first RAF race meeting I'd attended, hot weather but I was very thankful of the newly fitted roof vent for cabin cooling. Video can be found here: Click me for video.