The online racing simulator
GFX Card
(26 posts, started )
GFX Card
Hi,

I am looking to buy a new graphics card for my PC, and wandering what your opinion is & what you think is good but also not too expensive.

If possible could you tell what graphics card you have, rough price and what FPS you get from playing the game!

Thanks

James
I'm not an ATi expert, so I cannot give you any hints in that direction, but from the nVidia side a 6600GT seems to be very good bang for the buck (I have one myself). It's already a bit overpowered for LFS but if you also play other games then this or even its bigger brother the 6800GT might be a good choice.

My fps in LFS are CPU limited, meaning it doesn't make a difference if I run in 1024x768 @ noAA/AF or 1600x1200 @ 4xAA/8xAF. Depending on your current GFX card you may or may not see a big jump in FPS, as LFS is mostly CPU reliant. It does look much nicer at a higher resolution with AA/AF, though

I don't know any UK prices but here they are about:
6600 GT - 120€ > 82£
6800 GS - 220€ > 152£
6800 GT - 250€ > 172£
-
(xpjames) DELETED by xpjames
I think it would be helpful if you'd post your current PC specs. Makes it easier to judge if a certain combo makes sense or not
What are the advantages & disadvantages of using either PCI or AGP and what would you recommend ?
#5 - Vain
PCI-E is slightly faster, but that has no impact on performance yet (perhaps in 2 or 3 generations), but it's definitely the choice for future.
I'd choose the 6600GT, it's a good card for now, and it's technically identical to the 6800. that means when you think the card is too slow you can load a new firmware to the device and it will be just as fast and good as the 6800.
And that's really loads of bang-for-buck.

Vain
-
(thisnameistaken) DELETED by thisnameistaken
#6 - mr_x
i would go for the 6600GT for the main reason its an excellent card for the money, and its nVidia.