The online racing simulator
Preload?
(15 posts, started )
Preload?
Sorry for having to start a thread, really, I searched and searched and it seems I'm the only jackass that doesn't know what this means....and I'm a mechanic!!!!!

Can someone explain, I'm sure it's important!
I'd also like to know. It was added some time ago, but nobody ever bothered to explain what it actually does, it was just like "here it is, use it". Can we get The Tristan in here please?
on the differental? or the games startup?
Under the option for setting your gear ratios, to the left. You can adjust it up and down, I just need to know the difference, I fear I may be missing out on something important. But thanks AlienT I'll read through, but if anyone can post a simply explanation, thank you very much!!!
The reason I posted the link mate is that the chap describes in simple terms in his original post what pre-load is I keep his thread handy just to remind myself also.

Quote: 'Preload simply makes the diff behave as if it were locked over a certain range of torque difference between the wheels'
Thanks man, I should have looked it over. Appreciate it.
Quote :Thanks man[...]

+1
"The Tristan" is easily confused by the nuances of differentials. Plenty of other people on this forum are far more qualified in terms of understanding to help out.

It's something I really need to understand, but never bothered. All will change soon, as I have a clutch pack 'Powerflow' differential in the race car for next year. Ramp angles, preload and friction plate configuration will soon be thought about
@DHRammstein
Do you maybe need help for some special car, or special type of race, help with how big the value should be? I don't really know how it works in real car, but I know what it does in LFS
Clutch pack differential