The online racing simulator
Anyone know anything about road race cycles?
(43 posts, started )
Anyone know anything about road race cycles?
Look at doing a dualthlon, so I need a bike, but i haven't got the first idea of what to look for in a road bike, anyone here got any knowledge?
As a beginner I wouldn't bother with the Triathlon/Duathlon specific bikes that you are likely to see on the associated websites. They will charge more for extra bells and whistles they you may not necessarily want or be comfortable with, such as aero bars, with tri drinks holders etc etc.

I would just buy an entry level road bike. Most likely a Giant or Specialized to get best bang for buck. You will find a few other makes in there that will give more value for money, but I'm not in the market for them at the moment so I couldn't say. I'd be happy to comment on anything you do find.

For me, an entry level road bike that will not hold you back in a road race will cost you at the very least 400GBP. I would aim to spend 500GBP minimum. If you have a larger budget...then great. Remember you will probably want to buy stuff like a helmet, shorts/short, pedals (clip in cleats?) and the associated shoes.

Give me a budget and I'll start looking for you
The normal budget, cheap as possible!!!!.

I have found a Giant SCR 4 for £297, any good?
Depends on what you call knowledge...
I just sold my old race bike, a 2006 model Bianchi Via Nirone 7 equipped with Shimano Sora shifting and braking parts. Will pick up my new new bike tomorrow: a 2008 model Cube Aerial with Shimano Tiagra shifting parts and Sora brakes.