The online racing simulator
Designing a drive axle for a sports car
I have to design the drive axles for a sports car.

I'll be getting the details next week but for now it seems I have to do the lot. From calculating the stresses and simulation to selecting the materials. I don't have to do the actual machining but that's about it.

Has any of you had a similar project? Any help would be appreciated.
Carbon fiber, 30mm in diameter, probably good for at least 5000Nm (rough guess).

Either that or wood. Pine ought to do the trick. Balsa if you want to go really lightweight.

Disclaimer: I majored in EE and never took strength of materials. Take this post with a huge pile of salt.
#3 - ajp71
I'm sure about a 500mm cast iron shaft will be strong enough to handle the torque, might not be good for your wheel bearings though.
Attached images
propshft2.jpg
I think I'll go with the CF. This is supposed to be a sports car so it must be light.

How is the elasticity of CF?

Maybe I'll just use some steel tube. Or maybe titanium!

Maybe not titanium because it's supposed to be a limited edition sports car. Only a few hundered produced but still affordable. For the rich enthusiast atleast.
Again, I don't have any background in this kind of stuff besides what I see in racing, but AFAIK, CF doesn't really have much elasticity. It's solid right up to its failure point, then it shatters.
#6 - ajp71
Quote from March Hare :I think I'll go with the CF. This is supposed to be a sports car so it must be light.

How is the elasticity of CF?

Maybe I'll just use some steel tube. Or maybe titanium!

Maybe not titanium because it's supposed to be a limited edition sports car. Only a few hundered produced but still affordable. For the rich enthusiast atleast.