The online racing simulator
20" Vs. 22" @ 1680x1050
(71 posts, started )
20" Vs. 22" @ 1680x1050
Seems like 1680x1050 is the resolution to be going with. It's high enough to allow high-definition gaming and video viewing. It's not an overly demanding resolution for modern graphics cards, and it is of course, a 19:10 wide screen aspect ratio.

Seems like 20.1" LCDs, and 22" LCDs both use the same resolution. So which looks better? Does it look stretched on the 22" screen? Or does it look compressed on the 20" screen? I haven't had the chance to directly compare two LCD's, so I have no knowledge of how it looks. So, with price aside, what looks better? a 20.1" LCD, or the slightly bigger 22" LCD?
~Bryan~
It does not look stretched or compressed
20" looks sharper because the pixels are smaller and 22" is of course bigger physically.
I would say if your primary use is games and movies 22" is probably a better choice, but for other uses I would get the 20".
All 22" panels are TN and will be guaranteed to look like garbage (especially if you're used to a CRT). It is impossible to get an IPS panel (the only decent LCD panel type) in 22".

NEC is the only company I've seen that provides consistently high quality LCD *snicker* monitors in 20" (20W(M)GX2), 24" (LCD2490WUXi) and 25.5" (LCD2690WUXi), with no bait and switch panel swapping like Dell does. Prepare to pay a premium, though.
#4 - Jakg
Quote from Forbin :All 22" panels are TN and will be guaranteed to look like garbage (especially if you're used to a CRT). It is impossible to get an IPS panel (the only decent LCD panel type) in 22".

NEC is the only company I've seen that provides consistently high quality LCD *snicker* monitors in 20" (20W(M)GX2), 24" (LCD2490WUXi) and 25.5" (LCD2690WUXi), with no bait and switch panel swapping like Dell does. Prepare to pay a premium, though.