The online racing simulator
The return to LFS
(6 posts, started )
The return to LFS
Hello everybody!
I used to play this game like crazy back in 03 I think it was.
At least before I was conscripted into the army.
Great fun it was.

So a couple of days ago I decied to try and get back in, even though I dont own a wheel yet. Try to do my best with just the keyboard.

I bought S2 (I dont remeber my account info from 03) and headed off to the server section.

Now I realise things might have evolved since I used to play but I hoped it would be alittle like the good old fun I used to have.

I am a folkrace driver IRL and so I enjoy Rallycross/folkrace courses the most compared to regular race tracks.
To my suprise it was almost impossible to find a Rallycross server online. I found a ton of Drift servers and some CTRA/CD racing servers.

What I remeber most from 03 was how much fun I had driving the Blackwood rallycross course in reverse with the XR GT.
Now I have to go to the Demo section for a few Rallycross serves and they dont allow the reverse mode.

So whats up? Noone driving rallycross anymore? Should I just surrender and start doing laps on the CTRA servers? (any links to any setups for the tracks the CTRA servers are hosting would be great. I am all out of setups aswell since my return)

Or should I set up my own dedicated server? I used to have that back in the old days aswell. So I am wondering if there are dedicated server software for linux out there. I am not about to install a desktop OS on one of my servers
http://www.lfsforum.net/showthread.php?t=9572 details how to get the windows dedi running on Linux, under wine. You can successfully run LFS without any X server components installed at all, if you compile wine from scratch with no X development libraries installed on the system (most distros package wine with an X server as a dependancy - whether this bothers you or not I don't know). There is no native linux server, sadly.
Welcome back.