The online racing simulator
Penalties?
(10 posts, started )
Penalties?
Will someone please explain to me, what are penalties? I am pretty new to LFS and have played only in single-player mode. I have, a few times, been notified of a penalty (I think, mostly for driving too fast in the pit lane): "stop and go," or "drive through." What do these mean? Where am I supposed to stop, and for how long? Through what am I supposed to drive, and when? Basically, how do I clear the text from my screen, that states a penalty?

I have not been able to find such info in the wiki manual, nor elsewhere in the forum (although I can perhaps admit to not having been exhaustively diligent in searching).

Thanks for any info or advice.
#2 - J@tko
U get a DT if you exceed the PL speed limit by a couple of mph/have a small false start. You get a S/G if you exceed the PL speed limit by alot/have a big false start.

To serve you DT, just drive through the PL at the Speed limit (80kmh - thats about 48mph)

Ive never had to serve a S/G, but i presume you do the above, but stop in a pit box

Hope that helps

p.s PL is pit lane, S/G is Stop Go and DT is Drive through
#3 - bbman
A "Drive-Through"-penalty is served when you drive through the pit lane...

For a "Stop and Go"-penalty, you have to drive into the pits, stop at a pit box and wait there stationary for 10 seconds before you can go again...

You have to oblige the pit speed limit of 80 km/h or 48 mph at all times, from pit entrance (marked by a white line) to pit exit (marked by another line)!
#4 - J@tko
10 seconds??!! - im glad ive never had a Stop - Go!!
I'll simplify it all....

"Stop and Go" = Stop.... and go!

"Drive through" = ..... drive through!

All done in the pitlane.

Hope that helps.
What's this 10 second business? I don't think I've ever had to stop for 10 seconds for a stop and go. Unless I knocked over a can of coke