The online racing simulator
400 watt PSU enough for C2D + 8800GTS?
I'm planning to upgrade my PC to a C2D and get a better gpu while I'm at it.

I'm planning on a C2D E6750, Asus P5N-E, 2GB PC2-6400 RAM and an 8800GTS 320mb. I'm not entirely sure what rating my PSU is but I THINK it's 400w. I'm thinking that isn't enough, am I right?
#2 - Jakg
A VERY high quality 400w unit might *just* work, but i doubt it

Either way, i wouldn't bother.

How much is the P5N-E?
Expensive about £76, I think I'm gonna go for a cheaper one, I don't need SLI for a start...

Hm, what would you recommend for a PSU? 500, 600?
#4 - Jakg
£76?! You can pick up a P5K for like £80 and that pwns, although a Gigabyte P945 thingy should be cheaper.

I'd look at 580w, although a 550w would be fine.
I have a coolermaster 430watt extreme power with a e6600 and 8800gts, and it runs fine. Cost me like 60 euros I believe
#7 - Jakg
...that doesn't mention watts, though, so be sure to pick up a good quality one, and not some el cheapo ultra power
I had 2 so called creme-dela-creme Levicom ATX-450. Both had malfunctions within the first 3 months. Also used the Coolermaster 430W and runs great all the time. IMO: Yes! 400W is enough.
#9 - Jakg
Harry, you have a 5200 and a 1950 Pro - that's not exactly the same, is it?

I recommend a new PSU simply because chances are it's the generic PSU that came with his case.
A (decent quality) 400W power supply should be enough for that system, unless you happen to have 10 hard drives or something... Buying a much too "powerful" PSU is generally not a good idea since the power supplies have their maximum efficiency at a specific range somewhere between half and full load. So if you buy a 600W PSU and only ever use some 300W from it the efficiency will be less than optimal.

Most important thing is to get a good quality one, not some "600W" Q-Tec :P