The online racing simulator
GTR engine noise
(12 posts, started )
GTR engine noise
oooh! it hurts your ears, especially the high pitched tone at full revs, like a heart monitor on speed.

Really when my wifes in bed and I'm wearing headphones it actually hurts, even on low volume, maybe its just my soundcard or whatever, but other online racers tended to agree.

It's at the point where I can no longer drive these vehicles due to the engine noise sound which is a pity.

I am not a sound engineer, nor pragrammer, but surely it can't be too complicated to ammend the sounds down a decibel or two....please, because I really like the GTR cars but the noise is driving me insane.
While in the offending car, Press Shift+A. in the menu that pops up, turn down the gear whine to suit your liking. Make sure you save (give it a unique name just in case, too)

Do this for any offending cars
Yes, it's probably the gear whine, and no it's not wrong, it's normal. The M3 GTR that you have in your avatar has that noise, and it's probably even louder than anything we have in LFS :P

As Maggot said, it's possible to adjust that in the SHIFT+A panel.
#4 - bbman
Thanks guys,

I didn't even realise that shift A existed .
Some of you need to realise that gear whine doesn't sound like that at all in real life. The problem is recording it using conventional recording methods (single mic picking up all interior noise). People that have been to F1 or LMS events know this best. An F1 car does NOT sound like it does on TV. It's not even close.

However, implementing the correct sound into a game is quite unrealistic considering how much time would have to be spent on it. Even then, there's only so much you can get out of stereo headphones or even 5.1 speakers.