The online racing simulator
LFS Dedicated Linux server
(50 posts, started )
Is there a dedicated server program for linux??

Windsurf
#2 - dopez
Quote from dopez :no, but it does run very well with wine, see here for a small howto http://www.powie.de/part/artikel.php?id=41

(but i'd like to see a native linux version too

Thank You for the help! It worked.
Only the howto had some small mistakes :-)
The path is not longer:
http://www.liveforspeed.net/fi ... php?name=LFS_S1H_DEDI.zip

But:

http://www.liveforspeed.net/fi ... p?name=LFS_S2_DEDI_P2.zip

and not:
# nohup wine LFS.exe /cfg=setup.cfg >/dev/null & echo $! > lfs.pid
but

# nohup wine LFS.exe /cfg=setup.cfg >/dev/null & echo $! >lfs.pid

But thnx anyway :-)
(I'm a noob on Linux, but i managed to set it up ...Weeeeee)
Thnx again for the help!

Windsurf
Need some more help here :-)

I now have a server up running on the linux machine. But server does not report our racing results to the LFSworld server. Is there any ports on the router I have to forward/open to get the server to report to LFSworld??

I have open port 63392 for both UDP and TCP
Must both UDP and TCP be open??
You need to open the following:
29339 TCP
63392 TCP and UDP

Yes, both TCP and UDP need to be used on the final port. LFS uses UDP to transfer car position, as its quicker.
Dopez,ur link was failure.pls correct it .thx.
I find that according to:

http://www.winehq.com/site/doc ... sr-guide/config-wine-main

there is no more '.wine/config' configuration file and the winecfg program needs to be used to configure things:

Quote :In the past, Wine used a special configuration file that could be found in ~/.wine/config. If you are still using a version of Wine that references this file (older than June, 2005) you should upgrade before doing anything else. All settings are now stored directly in the registry and accessed by Wine when it starts.

The bad thing for a dedicated linux host is that winecfg works only with a graphic user interface.