The online racing simulator
No idea how to make my own skins....
I have been playing LFS now for a few months and absolutly love the whole experience. Having won a few races and started getting my laptimes to an almost respectable level i want to personalise my own skin.

Thing is i havnt a clue where to start

Not even sure how to download another skin????

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

H
Quote from h_heywood :I have been playing LFS now for a few months and absolutly love the whole experience. Having won a few races and started getting my laptimes to an almost respectable level i want to personalise my own skin.

Thing is i havnt a clue where to start

Not even sure how to download another skin????

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

H

Have a look in the skins section of this forum for lots of info.

Go to MasterKinnerz - http://skinnerz.proboards26.com/ - and register. Then you can download the pro kits. These kits make skinning easy.

Oh and you'll need a graphics editing tool like photoshop. I use ArcSoft's PhotoStudio 5.5 which costs about £50 but there is a fully working downloadable demo here: http://www.arcsoft.com/en/products/photostudio/

All you need to do is create a jpeg (like the ones in ...\LFS\Data\Skins)

These are 1024x1024

Also, download the cmx viewer from here:
http://www.liveforspeed.net/?page=addons

This makes it much quicker to look at the changes you have made to your skins.

Start by modifying one of the default skins. Get used to where they need to go. If you want others to see your skins on line you will need to up load them here:

http://www.lfsworld.net/

..by clicking on the 'my on-line car skins' icon.

It'll take time to get used to using something like photoshop. You may find that you 'do things the hard way' to start with until you've got used to all the tools available.

Good luck mate
Thanks very much, will give it a go tonight......