The online racing simulator
Do I really need a racing wheel?
(23 posts, started )
Hello!

I'm new to LFS and i'm willing to buy a license. But i'm using mouse+keyboard. I don't want to buy a racing wheel because I'm not a hardcore racer. Do i have any chance to become 'good' without a racing wheel? Or do you guys think I shouldnt even bother playing LFS without one?

Currently I think I'll have fun anyway (that is what it's all about, no ? ) But I only have experience with the Demo. (And i'm addicted as hell)

The faster I get an answer, the faster I take my VISA and buy a license.

Are there a lot of newbies in LFS? It's no fun to race against pro racers with years of experience the whole time!

Thanks in advance!

//edit//
Damn, I'll buy it anyway, I'm too excited!
I race against a person who comes so close to world records, and he uses a mouse. If you cant afford a wheel right now, I say first buy S2, get used to the tracks and the correct racing lines, and then when you can afford it, get the wheel. And half the experience is racing with the "pros" online, it is the best way to learn.
Depends what you want from LFS. If you're at all dedicated to driving, it's worth it, but perhaps not if you only race very infrequently.
Depends on how good you are TBH, i'd say you have more chance of becoming 'good' with a wheel, but I know pleanty of guys out there who use mouse and one specific guy who uses keys....

If you search for Kingnothing in LFS World you will see some of his pb's against wr's and so on, the guy must have alien fingers or something, as he is insanely fast with just keys. I guess he just prooves that you dont need a wheel to be good as this guy has got 2nd place is both of his OLFS races (In the top pool) In BF1 and UFR.

But, in both races he was beaten by wheel users I was the one in the BF1.
#5 - Gunn