The online racing simulator

Posted by DeadWolfBones

Team Sirius and ineX Racing Take 24 Hours of Aston GP Poles!

This week the Masters of Endurance circus rolled into the venerable Aston Grand Prix circuit for the series' annual 24-hour race. The mid-season cancellation of the GT0 class meant that several teams swapped into new classes for this round; ineX Racing, nFinity eSports Racing, and Team ev0» all swapped from GT0 to GT1, while spdoRacing moved their GT0 entry to GT2. A poll was conducted among the MoE teams regarding how to assign points to swapped teams, and it was decided to match these teams' points totals with those of the team with the corresponding points position in their new class. This means that, for instance, GT0 class leader ineX Racing is now tied for the points lead in GT1 with Team Sirius.

Qualifying began on Sunday the 6th, and the frontrunners in each class were immediately apparent. Sirius took the provisional pole in GT1 with a lap of 2:39.58 by Sebastian Hutchinson, while RAPTOR-RACING lept to an early lead in GT2 with a 2:47.56 by Kevin Groß. The second qualifying session, held on Friday the 11th, was better attended and yielded a much tighter qualifying order.

While Sirius did not attend Q2 to defend their spot in GT1, it turned out to be unnecessary as they held on to the top spot in absentia, recording their 9th consecutive pole position. The top runner in the session was Concept Racing's Kevin Leu, who improved on his second-place effort from Q1 with a 2:40.02, but couldn't come close to Hutchinson's time. CoRe Racing's Luis Barbosa took third on the final grid with a 2:40.30, while Teemu Iivonen rounded out the second row for ineX Racing with a 2:40.54.

Like Sirius, RAPTOR didn't bother to defend their top spot, but it ended up costing them. Tommy Østgaard of ineX Racing put in an excellent performance to snatch the pole away, setting a blistering 2:47.31. Close on his heels was Tomek Nogieć for CoRe Racing, who recorded a 2:47.50. Also beating RAPTOR's time was Felix Hillen from Team ev0», who snuck in with a 2:47.55.

The epic race gets underway at 16:00 UTC today, Saturday the 12th of February, with live flag-to-flag coverage on (aka Catch all the action on Stream III, with your usual commentary crew featuring Jonathan Palmer, Michael Booth, and Chris Ford. If you're lucky, a certain Australian fowl might join in!