The online racing simulator
Get Usernames and Track Insim (pyinsim)
I'm a php programmer since about 5 years back and I'm looking into python.
As a learning project I'm doing a insim application which is more or less done.

I'm using the pyinsim library, in this project.
http://www.lfsforum.net/showthread.php?t=70545

So to my two problem.
1. When a new player is connecting I can get the username of them. But if I have to restart the insim, I don't know how to get them again without kicking everyone out to rejoin.

2. How do I get the track and layout name?
I've seen that I can get it from a relay connection with the (IR_HOS) package. Never got relay to work might need some port to be open?
Can I get this information without relay?
Does Relay work on local servers, only tried with listed LFS server based on example from Documentation from the library.

Help would be very appreciated
#2 - PoVo
If you're good at PHP you might want to try use PRISM which a PHP based InSim plugin system
Quote from PoVo :If you're good at PHP you might want to try use PRISM which a PHP based InSim plugin system

I'm good at it but I want to do this with python.. but even if I do this in php the question remains how do I get the username and trackname? This is more of a package issue I guess. Not worked with sockets/package related communication before.

Also I will be done with my project then these key parts are solved.
#4 - PoVo
You can get the track from the IS_STA packet.
You can sent a IS_TINY with the subtype set to TINY_NCN to re-request the connections (and therefore the usernames) at any time.

I'd suggest you look at InSim.txt in your LFS/docs directory, or http://en.lfsmanual.net/wiki/InSim.txt which details the underlying packets that pyinsim manages for you.