The online racing simulator
Mozilla Firefox
(35 posts, started )
Mozilla Firefox
Hi

I have been using Firefox happily for a few years now and all has been well. Yesterday though i went onto a website, a pop up window came up and all programs crashed and none of them worked. I ran a quick AVG scan and it found a couple of things and then did a Malwarebytes scan and that got rid of some things. Now though, firefox opens but it does not search on google or anything and does not load any web pages. Only stays on homepage. I am now using internet explorer. I have recently done another Malwarebytes scan and another AVG scan but they have found nothing.

Has anyone had the same problem as me and if so how did you fix it?

Any help would be most appreciated!

Shiv
Did you try to reinstall Firefox (latest version)?
#4 - dadge
Quote from Killer Beast :yeh i have

my first port of call would be google. you'll find there you will have more luck there than on a racing sim forum.
try this
does ie work? if it does, try uninstalling firefox, and make sure it deletes your profile, then reinstall it.
Quote from bunder9999 :does ie work? if it does, try uninstalling firefox, and make sure it deletes your profile, then reinstall it.

Yeh it works. I'm using Google Chrome at the moment and I have tried to uninstall and reinstall firefox
Quote from Killer Beast :Yeh it works. I'm using Google Chrome at the moment and I have tried to uninstall and reinstall firefox

Also the FF profile?
Quote from Killer Beast :How do you delete that and what is it?

sorry for the delay.

the profile is what contains all your settings and extensions. if you delete it, firefox goes back to what it was like when you first installed it, at least for your specific computer user.

it's usually stored in c:\docs and settings\you\application data\mozilla\.