The online racing simulator
Opinions on this [HTPC] build, please...
I've been running XBMC on my $1000 laptop for a few months now and it feels like a real waste of equipment, so I'm looking to sell the laptop, buy an ultraportable laptop that I'll actually use AS a laptop, and build a HTPC.

The build below is what I've come up with so far. My goals are:
1. Small, quiet
2. Fast enough that I won't hit any ceiling anytime soon
3. Attractive, matches other A/V equipment in style (minimalist) /color (black)
4. As cheap as possible given the above requirements

I don't need blu-ray (have a PS3), and I don't need a gaming video card. Since I'm primarily using external storage and NAS for my content I don't need a huge HDD, but I feel like SSDs are still too expensive for the performance boost / added quietness.

Case/PSU: Silverstone SG06B Mini ITX Case w/ 300W PSU
Mobo: Zotac 880GITX-A-E Mini ITX AM3 ... SB3.0, HD4250 onboard gpu
CPU: AMD Phenom II 555 BE 3.2GHz
Optical: Samsung Slim SATA DVD±RW
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 500gb 7200rpm HDD
RAM: GeIL 4gb PC8500 DDR3
Etc: AZiO USB Bluetooth Adapter

Grand total: $456.26 shipped

Thoughts?
I would wait for the AMD apu cpu's (Fusion) to come out which is perfect for a HTPC build, have a look at this thread which has got a bit of info about them but if you are not willing to wait then there is nothing wrong with the stuff you have selected now.
Since you're planning to use this as a HTPC, perhaps a dedicated video card would be a good idea. It doesn't have to be any Crysis cruncher, but you'll appreciate the hardware video acceleration if you watch HD video. Also, is there a reason why you prefer a DVD writer instead of some cheapo BR drive?
Quote from DeadWolfBones :I've been running XBMC on my $1000 laptop for a few months now and it feels like a real waste of equipment, so I'm looking to sell the laptop, buy an ultraportable laptop that I'll actually use AS a laptop, and build a HTPC.