The online racing simulator
Racetracking via InSim
(19 posts, started )
Racetracking via InSim
Hi all!

For some days I play somewhat with Insim.

At the moment I'm a bit confused, how to build up a live ranking table/list with the actual position of each driver in a race.

When a race restarts, I get the starting positions out of the IS_REO packet. But how do I know the position of a driver after a few laps?
To know the actual lap, I can count the IS_LAP packets, and if the IS_LAP of driver x arrives before IS_LAP of driver y, I could know, that x is in front of y. But is this the right way?
I want to know which driver is in front of whom in every second, or perhaps in every sector.
Must I use current path node? But then I only know if someone has overtaken another, when his node is higher than the node of the overtaken car.

paXton
First off, I am not an InSim expert by any means, but this is the way I would go about it, from the information that I have learent from the InSim.txt. I am sure that my colleages will post something on here that will not only blow my idea out of the water and also do things in much less steps, thus taking less resources to complete the task you have asked of it.

$place[] = $IS_LAP['NAME'];
$place[$lap][$IS_SPX['SplitNumb']] = $IS_SPX['NAME'];

Get the start order, with the player (user) name as the key.
From the IS_LAP packet, the order they are received in will dictate what place they are in for that split (In a perfect world that is, if a car is 0.03 seconds behind the other and the network lag causes it to delay a packet by 0.04 seconds then you have a problem.)