The online racing simulator
Low FPS drops?
(12 posts, started )
Low FPS drops?
Hello all

I purchased LFS S2 Patch Z a few months ago.
The last patch i used was a long time ago.

But on this Z i keep getting FPS drops, down to like 36FPS at times which is ridiculous?

Is there a bug? Memory leak at all?

Thanks.
Sorry! forgot to put my hardware:

- Intel Core2Quad Q6600 overclock 2.7GHz
- ATi HD4870 Overclock 800/1000
- 4GB Corsair XMS2 800MHz
- 650W SLi Cert. PSU
- Windoze ¬_¬ XP SP3 MCE 2005 OEM
- 1280x1024 res blah
i have the same problem, only mine is down to 15 fps...if running xp, computer is too old, if running vista, not enough ram

i am not a techie, so thats all i can help with
If you have something like stable fps and from time to time frame drops you my try to disable in drivers or in game vsync
#5 - uiop
what does vsync actually do?
Vsync just allows the graphics card to send complete frames to the monitor when the monitor needs it (in sync with monitor refresh rate) as opposed to drawing more frames than needed.
Without Vertical sync it is possible that when a frame is sent to the display, it actually sends a mix of 2 frames as the cards frame buffer is partway through being updated when the frame is sent.

In short it can reduce "tearing" in fastmoving graphics and will clamp FPS to screen refresh rate.

To the OP, have you installed any texture packs or anything? or are you having this issue on the standard Z version?

are all your drivers (especially gfx and mobo chipset drivers) up to date?

do you have any other games you can get fps info from? just as a comparison

good luck.

SD.
Hello

Thanks for replying!

Yes i do have texture packs but i was getting FPS drops with the unmodified Z patch.

LFS without vsync is ugly and even without it, i get FPS drops.

I run the latest Catalyst (9.6) and latest nForce (15.25)

I believe the FPs drops are down the the game lack of support for multithreading.