The online racing simulator
The iRacing driving experience?
(27 posts, started )
Ok First thing to state is.

I only want replies from people that have actually driven in iRacing !!

I'm looking for opinions on the Driving Experience only compared to LFS (and other sims), not about the rest of the iRacing setup.

Just:

How does iRacing feel to drive compared to LFS. How do you think the physics are different/better/worse compared to LFS.

This is an information gaining exersize only so...

Opinons please, (please try and be analytical not just say unhelpful things like xyz is crap or great etc):
It's very good!
It's better than this thread.
I have no experience of the current version of iRacing, but the version they had last summer was very nice. Paid for a one month subscription to see what it was about.

iRacing felt more mechanical and somehow more precise, and more difficult when on the limit of adhesion. At the same time, the physics model felt to be less complex than LFS, especially the tyre dynamics (LFS tyres change more over different situations than the iR ones). Track surfaces and the sounds cover much of the simplicity feeling though, bumpy tracks with decent engine sounds and vibrations when going over kerbs means a lot.

I guess iR is only a souped up NR2003 but still it manages to be good. If I had the money, I'd probably change over to iRacing. Maybe it was just the change from LFS to iR that felt so nice and right, maybe I've grown bored with LFS. Who knows.

Shell out the $20 or whatever it was and try out for yourself, the feel is quite hard to describe
I thought the Solstice felt very believable, but it was a frustrating car to drive (understeer at low speeds, oversteer at high speeds - practically the opposite of what I want), I didn't drive any of the other cars.