The online racing simulator
Braking
(17 posts, started )
Braking
I hope i dont come across as some complete newb here (no offence meant to the new guys), ive been using race sims for several years now.

watching other people drive, they always seem to be able to brake much, much later.

usually i aim for the 100m marker, it does vary on what car you are using..... but some manage much later..........does it help if you keep a bit of throttle on? is it caines (spelling?) breaking....or some other technique?

im using an older MS sidewinder wheel (game port) and there isnt any software with it to make any adjustments.

i really enjoy the racing, but trying to leave the braking that little bit later usually means a very frustrating lockup into the kitty litter!

any advice will be most gratefully accepted!
-
(thisnameistaken) DELETED by thisnameistaken
You mean cadence braking - it is a useful technique to know if your wheels lock - it's manual ABS effectively.

At the moment the late brakers use the gears (and engine braking) to slow down much faster, running brake balances that would be unstable without the addition of engine braking.

But also bear in mind that braking really late and only just managing to slow down enough for the corner might be A LOT slower than braking 10m earlier, maintaining a better line, better balance and ultimately giving you a higher corner exit speed. If your lap times are okay don't worry about people who brake later than you unless they are faster. Remember, they also probably trail brake - i.e. the continue to apply partial braking deep into the corner. This allows them, in some cases, to start braking a little later, but not by much.

How much later is everyone braking on average?
#3 - Vain
Hm, it's very hard to judge from your discription what you may be doing wrong. Perhaps you want to show some replays of you driving something like... Westhill Reversed, T1 and the turn after the backstraight should be good examples.

Vain