The online racing simulator
Rap Music, maybe you don't hate it so much
(162 posts, started )
I just posted this to a musicians forum, bear in mind I'm a musician who's spent the last 20 years learning to play various instruments, mostly bass, then drums, then guitar. I thought maybe this thread might get some interesting responses here too:

Note: I really would prefer that people read this post and hopefully listen to some tunes before responding. I'm not talking about 50cent records or Lil Wayne records:

I know a lot of rockers and old people (hell I'm 34, that makes me old people) and they're always telling me how they don't like hip-hop. There's no musicianship, so-and-so hasn't spent years learning to play guitar or whatever, they're amateurs and their music is simplistic and base and offensive and rubbish, and so on.

I think in a lot of cases those arguments are pretty valid, but y'know most "classic" rock records are really simplistic too, but they still sound great.

I think it would be a shame if anybody was missing out on some great records from what I think was the "golden age" of hip-hop simply because they either never heard them at all or never listened to them properly, so here are some tunes which I think are gloriously creative and musical and funky, and I hope even the most hardened rockers amongst you will give some of them a chance. So please drop your inhibitions for a little while and listen objectively. And tell me honestly if you weren't grooving.

If you've got an opinion to share, I'd love to hear which ones you especially liked or disliked, and why:

1983 - Grandmaster Flash & The Fu ... Five - New York, New York
I'm spoiling you to begin with - you get a young Doug Wimbish on bass. The Furious Five started social consciousness in rap music, but still had very accessible lyrics.

1987 - Public Enemy - Sophisticated Bitch