The online racing simulator
help buying a new card
(97 posts, started )
help buying a new card
well when the new track textures came out i realized i needed an upgrade! right now o have a hp with vista 32-bit, intel core 2 quad Q6600 @ 2.4 ghz, 3g ram, 8400 gs hooked up with hdmi. im running it at 1024x768 @ 75mhz, with everything on i get a good 50-60 fps. it suprisingly looks great with hdmi, but i thrive for something better! I'm no comp expert so what's my best option for let's say $300 and what results will i see? thanks a bunch, i really apreciate it
hopefully you don't have to buy another power supply
i was looking at the card you posted, but no hdmi? I don't get it, that thing is so tits.
#6 - Jakg
You can get DVI -> HDMI converters for $3.36 delivered...

You need to check what PSU you have to make that card work, though...
the 4870 looks nice, 1g, but with an HDMI adapter how can it pass sound, doesn't it have to be straight out of the card for that(HDMI carries great sound by the way). but regardless if it does or not, i really like that card, very good for the price! If a still ran at 1024x768(which i plan to only because it fits my tv nicely for my eyes) with all graphics on, best textures, best everything, how many frames do you estimate i'll get? 8400gs-4870

thanks for the help guys, couldn't find those prices anywhere!

i was looking at that nvidia card again and there's no way its gonna fit, i got a tv tuner real close to my 8400gs and there's not too much room.
FPS will be CPU limited with that graphics card at 1024x768. I guess around 150 with a grid or something, more than you need anyway

(The 4870 is dual slot too so if there's something in the PCI slot below you'll have to move it.)