The online racing simulator
Active differentials
(28 posts, started )
Active differentials
I've searched for a simular but haven't found anything so

In cars such as the Impreza WRX/STI and the Evo, you have active differentials which I'm guessing (I'm not a techie :shy would 'actively' change the locking of the diff based on slip angle, throttle, steering angle, and blah blah.

Some even have on the fly (Impreza WR1 to name but one) had a dial where you could change the front/rear torque split.

I believe this would add realism and increase setup options for drivers, and make cars (namely the RB4) used more widely and more competitive. It would also in turn mean that if propper rally courses were to be released in later versions, it would be much more fun

That's all
And also for the Mini Cooper JCW, IIRC.

And honestly, I don't know if active diffs are very common IRL, so for now it's a +0. I still want to read something more about them, and find out if they are an interesting option to racing or not.
but it would make setup designing even more complicated, if you look at the diff setting page in Richard Burns Rally with its ~40 changeable values.
Quote from ACCAkut :but it would make setup designing even more complicated, if you look at the diff setting page in Richard Burns Rally with its ~40 changeable values.

which is far too simple really
what id like is a window popping up to type some c++ in
Quote from ACCAkut :but it would make setup designing even more complicated, if you look at the diff setting page in Richard Burns Rally with its ~40 changeable values.

That's exactly the point

Anyone can win with a locked diff (hey, I do it every day :razz but I think that one single setting with 'active diff' which automatically changes on the fly, with no settings would be nice. Maybe an RB4 only thing?
I'd rather have torsen differentials than full out active ones...