The online racing simulator
Turn a good race set into a qually set
Possibly a really dumb question, but if I've found a race set that I'm really happy with are there any general rules for tweaking it for qualifying (low fuel, warm the tyres up quicker etc.)?

Edit: The set in question is for the FOX on Aston National, in case anyone wants to go into specifics
Quote from TechAde :Possibly a really dumb question, but if I've found a race set that I'm really happy with are there any general rules for tweaking it for qualifying (low fuel, warm the tyres up quicker etc.)?

well, I'm not a pro, but quali sets for GTR cars usually have:
- Negative camber for better grip in corners (front wheels around -3, and rear ranging from -1 to -5).
- R2 slicks only
- lower pressure on rear wheels for better grip (which is good on slower tracks like blackwood, fern bay and south city). High pressure (180 - 200KPa) improves your top speed and tyres cool down very quickly on long straights.
- lowering downforce can also improve top speed, but it pretty much changes how the car handles, so I rarely change this one.
Quote from Rumiko :well, I'm not a pro, but quali sets for GTR cars usually have:
- Negative camber for better grip in corners (front wheels around -3, and rear ranging from -1 to -5).
- R2 slicks only
- lower pressure on rear wheels for better grip (which is good on slower tracks like blackwood, fern bay and south city). High pressure (180 - 200KPa) improves your top speed and tyres cool down very quickly on long straights.
- lowering downforce can also improve top speed, but it pretty much changes how the car handles, so I rarely change this one.

Many thanks Rumiko. Do you know if the same would apply to the FOX?
Hotlap setups are generally all about grip and speed, not stability - you only need to go on lap without crashing after all.