The online racing simulator
Bogey Jammer's Portfolio
(15 posts, started )
Bogey Jammer's Portfolio
Here are my photorealistic tries
All the pictures are modeled with Blender and rendered with Indigo unless specified.

Now the pictures:

enjoy!
The Real XRT
MuHaha

This is my first attempt to get the most realistic as possible render for a LFS car. I think they are too much "low poly", and even with the great Indigo renderer, my renders looked not enough sweet. So I decided to remake the XRT, adding more polygons, created custom rims and enhanced light parts.
But what you see is actually 40% of that I wanted to make, there are obstacle to my work:
  1. It took several hours to make this, and required about three times more to achieve my goal, but it's absolutely too much for me and the other details which are lacking cost too much time for little visual result. So, there are no window wipers, no exhaust texture, the tire tread sucks, and the whole interior is set to black. I wanted to remake it but the patch Z was released and Scawen great work stopped me. Some other parts are unfinished or missing too.
  2. The car is fictional; this mean that some architecture details made my work difficult, like the windshield integration, rear lateral window (optical distorsion), the trunk opening is nonsense, tails lights are too big...
  3. Blender "Subsurf" smoothing technique is not very good for car modeling and requires tricks; there are some light mesh foldings on some parts, like the front of the hood. I admit that 3dsmax smooth algorithm is much better and easier to use.
This is the white one, actually the first of the three rendered:

I don't like it very much because there's too much white and it's not very impressive...
Quote from Bogey Jammer :MuHaha