The online racing simulator
Making Tracks
(15 posts, started )
Making Tracks
Hi guys, i'm pretty new to this and i hope this is in the right section. I was ust wondering if it would be possible to make custom maps/tracks for LFS, and if so, how?
No, not possible.
That is to say, there is no EASY way of doing it. If the game can read the data, then something is able to write the data. How ever we are not granted those tools, and no one has attempted to make those tools so far (outside of the dev community).
For the simple reason... the developers wish to retain control over certain aspects of the LFS racing simulator to maintain a high quality experience over the life of the project versus what happens when these parts (cars and tracks) are left up to the community where some are experts and some are novices and the end result is extremely variable.
would be fun if the Devs could hold a competition, 5 (or less / more ) people have the rights to make a new map with a few diffrent track layouts.

when all are finished the devs will rate wich one is the best. Or post pictures and some text about the map here on the forum and let the LFS users vote by a poll. the winner wil be added in a next patch

how does that sound?
Quote from henrico-20- :would be fun if the Devs could hold a competition, 5 (or less / more ) people have the rights to make a new map with a few diffrent track layouts.

when all are finished the devs will rate wich one is the best. Or post pictures and some text about the map here on the forum and let the LFS users vote by a poll. the winner wil be added in a next patch

how does that sound?

sounds that it would go out of control..
Sounds like a nice idea. Everybody who can make a nice car or track can participate in the competition. The best track and car could be converted by Scavier into the game format and included in the game.
Quote from Tomba(FIN) :sounds that it would go out of control..