The online racing simulator
No smoke without drift
(23 posts, started )
No smoke without drift
Hey Guys,

Just a quick question really. I'm new to LFS (and I must say S2 really does kick a$$) and have been drifting the XRT all weekend but when comparing my replay to other drift replays out there I note that I very rarely produce any smoke (the only time I can see smoke is when I really loose control!!), im revving hard and I leave tyre lines all through the corners but not a stitch of smoke from the rear.

I wonder if it's my driving or something that can be tweaked with the tyre settings

Any clues, I love drifting but its just not the same without smoke
maybe your setting for dust lod (under options => graphics) is too low
Quote from Shotglass :maybe your setting for dust lod (under options => graphics) is too low

Great, thanks for the suggestion. I will check it out just as son as I get home.
Try lower tire pressures. At least in S1, tires with high pressure produced very little smoke, while tires with low pressure produced a lot.

Also, you may want to try driving properly. I personally find it much more rewarding and it's what the sim is designed for. There's nothing quite like sticking that line perfectly, right on the edge of traction, with maximum lateral acceleration, and doing that repeatedly.
Oddly, the normal tires most drifters use on the rear of their car doesnt produce smoke until they are really hot.
#6 - evans
Quote from Forbin :Try lower tire pressures. At least in S1, tires with high pressure produced very little smoke, while tires with low pressure produced a lot.

Also, you may want to try driving properly. I personally find it much more rewarding and it's what the sim is designed for. There's nothing quite like sticking that line perfectly, right on the edge of traction, with maximum lateral acceleration, and doing that repeatedly.

He's right, y'know..