Sound Loop Crash?
Have you had this, game locks up black screen or half desktop, sound looping,
I have an x-fi-music (whats your card)

Im running xp pro 32
[email protected]
2x 8800gtx
2gb ram
latest version (max settings)

Please post if you have had this, so we can start to get a clearer picture of spec etc, Im thinking its the x-fi and its lack of new drivers for xp.
I'm running a X-fi Platinum, on XP SP3 beta, using the latest drivers without any issues.

Bear in mind that LFS tended to expose unstable cpu overclocks since it does a hell of a lot of physics calcs. Whether or not this is relevant with your QX6700 I could not say as I have no experience. You might want to try declocking it a little to rule it out and see if it helps.
#3 - KROM
It's temps are low 48 full load (thats on four cores) its stable with all other games, and the h2c comes clocked @3.2 so I aint touched it. in other words its stock.
#4 - Jakg
Does this happen in ANY other game? I have an X-Fi XtremeMusic running fine back in XP (but with a S939 board) and now fine in Vista x64. If your PC is fully stable then i'd check for new Beta drivers.
#5 - KROM
I get a stammer in Testdrive Unlimited, and Im almost sure its sound, as it sort of clicks when it stammers, all other games seem fine, my crash is random, I can play online/offline for hours and nothing happens, the crash is a black screen lockup with sound looping then no sound, then sound looping and so on.
Needs rebooting, the reason I headed the thread sound loop, is because of the crash leaving the sound looping, making me think sound is the error, but this is a guess, as nothing is reported in the admin tools under either system nor applictions.
I play
Sup com
Battlefield 2 (and add-on packs)
Crysis
and other games for hours without issue.