The online racing simulator
A little guide: BL1/FBM
(18 posts, started )
#1 - J@tko
Seeing as quite a few people (mainly demoers!) are complaining about the FBM, I thought I'd put together a little guide to help you around the new config - I'm no expert, but hopefully this will help you. If you have any suggestions for improvements, just say!
I've attached my own setup, which is the basis for this guide.(I got it from a guy called Dave - and I used it for quali before changing it to a raceable condition - It'll do 5-8 laps on R1 tyres) I use a keyboard, and can do 1.16s easily, 1.15s at a push and a high 1.14 if I really go for it (and don't spin!) If you have a wheel, I think it would be capable of a 1.13 easily.

The tyres don't really need warming up that much, they'll be at operating temp after a couple of laps.

The Guide
Sector 1
You should just shift up into 5th gear on the S/F line, and unless there's a tailwind, just stuff the rev limiter and stick in 5th until you brake for T1, as it's uphill and you won't gain any extra speed by shifting into 6th. Slam on the anchors at the start of the blue kerb on the left hand side. The car will wobble a little, especially to the right. For the line into the corner, I tend to aim for the apex in a straight line. It's probably better if you stay to the left, and turn in onto the apex. Get the power on as early as you dare - there isn't too much oversteer on the exit - and then go into the chicane. Take as much of the first kerb as you dare, usually I just go for the centre of it. Let off the throttle slightly (later, you will find that you can go flat out through here, but not to start with!) as you turn into the left hander, then correct the oversteer and floor it. I usually take a massive amount out of the kerb on the right hand side, as it doesn't really damage your suspension much.
S1 times:
25 secs is quick
24 secs is v. quick
23 is uber-fast!

Sector 2