The online racing simulator
Losing control, its all over the track
Yes, I am new

Now, I've played a few "sims" (or what claim to be sims) before, mostly game-like, such as the gran turismo series, enthusia, etc. I am new to LFS and I can't figure out how to work some cars.

In the hatchback (X-something?) or especially in the lower end turbo RWD cars, I seem to be fine when doing ok, but once I mess up, it's all over, and the game seems to lose touch with reality and go into "tires have no tread or grip" mode.

Why is that? I can soften up the rear suspension and control the massive amount of oversteer somewhat, but once I lose a wee bit of traction in a turn, say understeer, I just lose all control, either countersteer too fast or too slow no matter what I do, and end up pulling off 3 complete turn arounds while going above 40-50mph.

Can anyone give me some pointers to help me out? I know I'm used to the games where TCS ABS ACS (I think those are the correct letters..) etc are my best friend.
Quote from sicbeing :Yes, I am new

Now, I've played a few "sims" (or what claim to be sims) before, mostly game-like, such as the gran turismo series, enthusia, etc. I am new to LFS and I can't figure out how to work some cars.

In the hatchback (X-something?) or especially in the lower end turbo RWD cars, I seem to be fine when doing ok, but once I mess up, it's all over, and the game seems to lose touch with reality and go into "tires have no tread or grip" mode.

Next time you spin out or loose control, hit the F9 key. This is your tire temperatures. You will see that they are probably quite red, ie, HOT! Especially in the race cars with slicks. Once they are hot, I have a heck of a time driving until they cool again, or I pit.

Quote :...I just lose all control, either countersteer too fast or too slow no matter what I do, and end up pulling off 3 complete turn arounds while going above 40-50mph.