The online racing simulator
S1 License and servers?
(16 posts, started )
S1 License and servers?
I'm an oldie but a newbie. Obviously. I'm S1 licensed.

I am just recently getting back into the game, and I LOOOOVE the MRT. Autocross + MRT = heaven. However, when it comes to playing online, I only see *ONE* S1 server. ONE!!! Is that it, really?!

I will definitely be upgrading to S2 as soon as I can afford it - I know, it's cheap. I have a job that pays well. But I'm also saving money for my wedding, so S2 might have to wait for Christmas as a gift from the fiancee.

Until then, am I really stuck playing on demo servers because there is only one S1 server, and I can't touch the S2 servers? I might just stick with single player MRT and wait until I can get S2 and find a league that has MRT races, and not bother with demo servers because they're too annoying and I don't have the patience to look for a decent one.
This has been discussed many times. Do some research.

But in short:

There are more than one S1 server, my guess is that there are at least five dedicated S1 servers.

S2 licensed racers can see S1 servers in the server list and join them without checking the S1 mode button, but S1 licensed racers can not join servers in S2 mode (even if they're running S1 content). This is because LFS does not automatically detect S1 content-the server admin manually has to set the server to S1 mode if he or she would like S1 licenced racers to be able to connect.

Maybe this will change in the future.
Thanks for replying, guys. I have done some research, actually, but the posts were quite old and I just wanted to see if there was anything new on this.

I think League of the Americas has MRT racing, but their "season" just ended and I don't think they'll be doing another one (at least any time soon), and they require S2 as well.

As for the S1 servers, I did notice there were about 5-6, but they were all empty except one. And none of them allow MRTs. Argh!