The online racing simulator
Question about tyre temps.
(26 posts, started )
I've got a nice setup for the FOX, shipped with R1 tyres. After about 2 laps on Westhill the tyres are completely warmed up (both inside and outside). But i'm not sure the R1 tyres will last for as long as i want them to, so i simply replaced the R1 slicks with R2.

However, now the inside of the wheels stay cold (blue in the f9 menu) and only the outside gets hot (Hot on the outside as if you've done a burnout.) - even after 20 laps.

Im guessing it's a bad thing, so i am wondering whats the best solution? Push harder (kind of hard since im pretty much going as fast as i can already) or alter the setup? If so - how?

Or is the cold inside/hot outside a good thing?
ok, i'm pretty new to this so i'm probably wrong...

The R2 tyres may need different pressure settings to the R1 to get them to work well...

you know n F1 this year, when you see them making adjustments to the tyre pressures at the stops, in order to alter handling and wear rates....

my point is if you are using the R1 pressure sets on R2s, this could be your problem...i dont know how to fix it though...
#3 - Spurs
If you let the pressure as it was with R1 tyres, you have to less the pressure so the tyres will have a better grip and the tyres will be heated better

Also excuse my bad English
#4 - bbman
Quote from felplacerad :I've got a nice setup for the FOX, shipped with R1 tyres. After about 2 laps on Westhill the tyres are completely warmed up (both inside and outside). But i'm not sure the R1 tyres will last for as long as i want them to, so i simply replaced the R1 slicks with R2.

However, now the inside of the wheels stay cold (blue in the f9 menu) and only the outside gets hot (Hot on the outside as if you've done a burnout.) - even after 20 laps.