The online racing simulator
stick shift instructional video
(4 posts, started )
Hey guys, this might be an interesting request...but I have a friend that lives 8 hours away and wants to get into racing. I have been racing for 7 years now, and he just randomly tells me today he's interested in trying it. He has a new 07 civic, not a ricer...just got a commuter car, and knows how to drive a manual. However, he has never driven it...aggressively. I'm trying to explain, however I can't find a good video showing how to shift quickly, and explaining it over a chat program is difficult. So far I have shown him a good video of power shifting, and I told him do the same thing, just lift when he shifts. (doesn't need to void the warranty goin out power shifting his new car)

So possibly a video, or a better description would be awesome. I already showed him this video to warn him about downshifting instead of upshifting
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v ... ;mode=related&search=

if ricers are good for something its entertainment hahaha
You don't need to "power shift" in order to change gear quickly. If he knows how to drive a manual, i.e he can drive one rather than just knows what he has to do, then he should be able to change gear as quickly as the gearbox will allow him to using the clutch pedal. The gains to be made from "power shifting" are almost zero really, and you're much much less likely to make a mistake.
#3 - bbman
I have to agree with sinbad... It's not like it's another way of shifting, you just do it more quickly than you'd do it on the roads... A decisive, smooth movement without too much force is all that's needed or you risk breaking anything...