The online racing simulator
stock car and rain?
(147 posts, started )
stock car and rain?
Call me a noob, but is there a reason why ovals cant be raced in the rain? More specifically, if NASCAR had windshield wipers and rain tires would it be able to race in the rain?
Quote from lizardfolk :Call me a noob, but is there a reason why ovals cant be raced in the rain? More specifically, if NASCAR had windshield wipers and rain tires would it be able to race in the rain?

I think they would... I find no other problems, but I'm a noob.
IIRC The Indy500 was tried in the rain one year, with rain tires. Complete disaster. I don't think oval racing in the rain is a smart decision at ALL; crashes are bad enough, imagine those crashes in the rain. Someone will get seriously seriously hurt.

NASCAR has had a rain race before (or maybe just a practice?) when they were in Japan. Windshield wipers and all IIRC.
The main problems stem from the fact on a closed oval like that, the mist created by the cars becomes so severe that visability turns to zero.

and at a constant 160-190mph, rain tires tear up, and the last thing you want on an oval is failing tires.

It will not happen if not ever, at least for many, many years.
Quote from MAGGOT :IIRC The Indy500 was tried in the rain one year, with rain tires. Complete disaster. I don't think oval racing in the rain is a smart decision at ALL; crashes are bad enough, imagine those crashes in the rain. Someone will get seriously seriously hurt.

NASCAR has had a rain race before (or maybe just a practice?) when they were in Japan. Windshield wipers and all IIRC.

It wouldn't be this one wouldn't it? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T95GgQJnOdM

Nascar was in Japan?

As for the mists, i think (and I may be wrong) depends on the degree of rain. Nascar would just call the race if it drizzles. If there's a heavy rain, then ya, but a little wouldn't hurt would it?